Kickboxing, perhaps from the devil?

Perhaps it is. Alteast it feels that some of our teatchers could have been trained by him... hehe
Should go prepare for tonights practice, always good to come prepared. But before I do I´d like to entertain a thought I had.
Something I was taught when I was young was that hitting other people was wrong. This was something I took to heart, and I´ve never been in a fight. A fight with words seemed better, and I was more skilled in the art of a sharp tongue.
When I grew older I started to harber the urge to start training some kind of defence. Boxing, kickbox or perhaps karate or anything else that looked cool. I admit, I was enticed by the apperant power one could attain by beeing good att defending, and attacking hostile "targets." But I also wanted it to feel more secure. If I knew that I could defend myself, I wouldnt be as afraid walking outside at night or for that matter, in broad daylight.
This was something not allowed within the congregation. According to the bible it is wrong to use physical violence or for that matter learn how to. There is one verse in the bible where the idea is that one that uses a sword, will be perished by a sword. So, if I learned how to fight, i would get into a fight... or something like that

Well, I actually managed to go around that rule, by training som kickbox in the local gym, calling it ordinary cardio-practice. I tried no to talk to much about it, and when I did, I only talked to friends I knew wouldn´t care. The eldary in the congregation wouldn´t be so pleased, Im guessing.
But last two month I´v been practising some "real" kickboxning and I really like it.
Im not doing it so I can go out and start fights with people, Im doing it to test my limits. I wanna know how good I can get, how much training I can manage. I really like it. It´s not making me more hostile, it doesn´t make more more prone for using violence against other people. But it helps my selfesteem and its a great challenge!

Time for some training, wish me luck

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0