It´s all about perspective

One specific thing that Jehovahs wittnesses are know for, is the door to door knocking they do. They come to you, often very polite and well-dressed and want to talk about the bible. Awake and the Watchtower is their most used magazines.
They try to get your attention, finding something that you find interesting and trying to find a biblical interpretation to it.
Most people I know have met a Witness, they are very hard-working and cover a large portion of the population during one year.

Why do I explain this? Beacuse I want to give you my perspecive to all this. From one within.
This is not an anti-Witness blogg. I have no larger grudge agains the congregation, and many things they do are good, or atleast harmless. But its a part of my history, a part of how I am. If there´s anything inside my head that could be of use for others, then something good comes out of it

I was a Witness for 24 years. I´v spend countless hours in the "service" walking from door to door, or out in the street, talking to people I meet. Sometimes I loved it, other times I hated it.
Its a tedious work, at times. But you keep at it. I know a lot of my "former" friends that went out 50-70hours a month doing this work, and many working part-time do manage. And they seemed happy.

Many people I met got angry when we came. They slamed the door in our faces and screamed at us. I´v heard many stories about people chaising witnesses away with a hammer och a shotgun, even here in Sweden. But why did we still keept on coming?
I had a good explanation for this back then. It went something like this:
If you had the cure for cancer, or any other terminal disease, and the only way to save people was to personally go out and give it to them, would you? A witness goes out and talk to people because they belive that they found the cure for all mankinds problem. Death is not a problem, global warming is something that will be fixed. This is something they have complete faith in! And they have the answer. But to save other people, they need to go out there and tell them. Cause if people don´t hear about it, they won´t be saved.
If you had the responsiblity on you shoulders, would you stay home?
That´s way witnesses keep coming to your door. They wanna give you a salvation, that they belive will save humankind.

And this was something I belived in to. I don´t think I do anymore, and it saddens me


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0