Excommuncation and the family, part two

The second part that always make me feel a bit sick is the part where you use excommunication as terror or to "push" people back into the congregation.

And this is something I´v heard several times. Also the article I linked to earlier states some examples.
In the article, the writer has interviewed some people that have been shunned, but returned.
Read this: . Being totally cut off from loved ones and from close contact with the congregation created a strong desire to repent. I realized just how wrong my course was and how serious it was to turn my back on Jehovah.'
I took that from the article. The interesting part with this is that the person´s first reaction is that the emotional pain of beeing apart from family made her realise that she should repent. Shouldnt it be that she Loves God and feels that she has done something wrong? The desire to be with her family made her return.
And this: My decision was not an easy one for my family to swallow, for my son, five, is the only boy, and they love him dearly.' It is hoped that losing such association will touch the parents' hearts, from the same article.
The woman actually refused to let her son meet his grandparent, so that they would come back to the congregation, not for love of God, but for the love it their grandchild.

This is totaly insane! Using the love for your family to "force" people back into a congregation they don´t wanna belong in?
Shouldn it be love to God, or the evidence that the Witnesses has the "absolute truth" that makes them come back?

The truth should entice people to the congregation, not emotional tricks and blackmail

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0